Core Banking

Core Banking

Core Banking refers to core banking business and cross-divisional functions such as account management, payment transactions, lending and asset/liability management with the management of external loan, current account, time deposit and savings accounts as well as internal (counter) accounts with the underlying processes and postings. This is supported by liquidity management, overall bank management, controlling and accounting, accounting and statutory reporting requirements as well as master data and contract management.

Business areas and divisions as well as the corresponding terms are not always clearly documented and clearly defined in the market. WEPEX generally combines retail and corporate banking, lending, retail banking, private banking, commercial banking and wholesale banking etc. under Core Banking.

Processes and systems must be continuously developed further to meet the high demands of customers and regulators.

All-in-standard core banking systems typical in the market are e. g. OSplus (savings bank financial group), Agree / Bank21 (Fiducia/GAD), Avaloq, T24 (Temenos), SAP, Core24 (Kordoba), TCS (Tata), MidasPlus (Misys), Konto3000 (CSC) and so on. Of course, there are numerous special systems that perform individual functions, both as standard systems from software manufacturers and as individual banks’ own developments.

 

Selected projects that we have carried out in this environment are listed below:

  • German big bank: Advice on the renewal of the core banking process and core banking system landscape (establishment of a comprehensive program management manual, definition of governance and committee structures, control and reporting processes, bundling of projects into programs)
  • German big bank Sub-project management for the standardization of core banking and payment systems (introduction of a central core banking system and replacement of local applications in 34 foreign locations)
  • International commercial bank: Optimization of business partner master data processes, standardization of client codes, extensive centralization of responsibilities, synchronization of all relevant systems along the value-added chain with the central master data system, comprehensive expansion of master data for internal and external requirements.
  • Cooperative banking group: migration of credit accounts to a central system for better identification and calculation of values and risks
  • Cooperative banking group: management of the technical specifications and implementation for further developments at the front workplaces in the primary banks.

Core Banking

Core Banking

Core Banking bezieht sich auf das Kernbankgeschäft und auf Querschnittsfunktionen wie Kontoführung, Zahlungsverkehr, das Kredit- und Aktiv-Passiv-Geschäft mit der Führung von externen Darlehens-, Kontokorrent-, Termingeld- und Sparkonten sowie internen (Gegen-) Konten mit den dahinterliegenden Prozessen und Buchungen. Dies wird unterstützt durch das Liquiditätsmanagement, die Gesamtbanksteuerung, das Controlling und Rechnungswesen, die Bilanzierung und die Wahrnehmung gesetzlicher Meldeanforderungen sowie schließlich die Stammdaten- und Vertragsverwaltung.

Geschäftsfelder und Bereiche sowie die korrespondierenden Begriffe sind im Markt nicht immer eindeutig belegt und klar abgegrenzt. WEPEX fasst generell Privat- und Firmenkundengeschäft, Kreditgeschäft, Retail Banking, Private Banking, Commercial Banking sowie Wholesale Banking unter Core Banking zusammen.

Prozesse und Systeme müssen kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt werden um den hohen Anforderungen der Kunden und der Regulatoren Rechnung zu tragen.

Im Markt typische All-in-Standardkernbanksysteme sind z.B. OSplus (Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe), Agree / Bank21 (Fiducia/GAD), Avaloq, T24 (Temenos), SAP, Core24 (Kordoba), TCS (Tata), MidasPlus (Misys), Konto3000 (CSC) und OBS. Selbstverständlich gibt es zahlreiche Spezialsysteme, die einzelne Funktionen wahrnehmen, sowohl als Standardsysteme von Softwareherstellern wie auch als Eigenentwicklungen einzelner Banken.

Nachfolgend sind ausgewählte Projekte aufgeführt, die wir in diesem Umfeld durchgeführt haben:

  • Deutsche Großbank: Beratung bei der Erneuerung der Kernbankprozess- und Kernbanksystemlandschaft (Etablierung eines übergreifenden Programm-Management-Handbuchs, Festlegung Governance- und Gremienstrukturen, Steuerungs- und Reportingprozesse, Bündelung von Projekten zu Programmen)
  • Deutsche Großbank: Teilprojektleitung bei der Standardisierung der Kernbank- und Zahlungssysteme (Einführung eines zentralen Kernbankensystems und Ablösung von lokalen Applikationen in 34 ausländischen Lokationen)
  • Internationale Geschäftsbank: Optimierung der Geschäftspartnerstammdatenprozesse, Vereinheitlichung der Client Codes, weitgehende Zentralisierung der Zuständigkeiten, Synchronisation aller relevanten Systeme entlang der Wertschöpfungskette mit dem zentralen Stammdatensystem, umfassende Erweiterungen in den Stammdaten für interne und externe Anforderungen.
  • Genossenschaftliche Bankengruppe: Migration der Kreditkonten auf ein zentrales System zur besseren Feststellung und Berechnung der Werte und Risiken
  • Genossenschaftliche Bankengruppe: Steuerung der Fachspezifikation und Umsetzung für Weiterentwicklungen an den Front-Arbeitsplätzen in den Primärbanken (Volks- und Raiffeisenbanken)