Settlement and Custody

Settlement and Custody

Securities settlement and custody are characterized by high transaction volumes and correspondingly high costs. WEPEX supports its customers with important cost reduction measures. This includes process optimization, sourcing decisions and system migrations as well as optimizing the warehouse network and selecting global custodians. WEPEX’s technical and solution competencies are also available to its customers for critical operational problems, such as the analysis and adjustment of money and betting differences.

Selected projects that have been carried out in this environment are listed below:

Securities Settlement
  • Major international bank: Introduction of a new securities middle-office system, analysis of business transactions and optimization of processes in upstream trading systems, adjustment of counterparty master data, and synchronization of the master data of the affected systems
  • Analysis of the strategic options, introduction of a project structure and coordination of the individual workstreams during the introduction of a securities disposition as well as separation of client and proprietary trading portfolios.
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Definition of the application architecture and restructuring of the sub-project “Migration” within a major project to merge the securities settlement of two Landesbanken and foundation of a joint transaction bank.
  • Public-sector bank: Support of the project management within the framework of a preliminary study for the replacement of the central securities settlement system and evaluation of different alternatives (introduction of new WP system vs. ASP solution at a transaction bank).
  • Cooperative central bank: Post-migration project to eliminate money clearing differences, analysis and structuring of the outstanding post-migration problems after a complex migration project in the area of outsourcing of securities settlement in order to provide structured processing, and creation of a catalogue of measures and status reporting as well as establishment of an MIS for management (monthly reporting of defined KPIs).
Custody
  • Commercial bank: Analysis of the strategic options and execution of the tendering process for the sale of the custody and clearing business by a German commercial bank.
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Implementation of the RFP process and evaluation of offers within a project to reorganize the custody network in order to save costs.
  • Public-sector bank: Migration of the global custodian for foreign business (including proprietary trading and custodian bank/special funds)
Selected Project Profile: Migration Global Custodian
  • The client is a German custodian bank which, at the start of the project, has transacted international business via a global custodian based in the UK.
  • The objective of the project was to examine the existing custodian connections under consideration of economic aspects and regulatory requirements as well as the establishment of detailed Service Level Agreements (SLA’s).
  • One of the reasons for the decision to migrate to a global custodian based in Germany was the increasing regulatory requirements (e. g. the BaFin’s Custodian Circular of Summer 2010) and the associated increased monitoring obligations of custodian banks for foreign business, as a German custodian is also directly subject to regulation by the BaFin.

WEPEX Tasks and Project Approach

  • Management of the migration to the new global custodian
  • Recording of the departments affected by the migration and the affected systems
  • Development of the business and system migration strategy
  • Preparation of the migration plan and coordination with the relevant departments (nearly all functions in the back-office of the custodian bank were affected, e. g. foreign settlement, settlement of repo/loan transactions, money bookings, money management, settlement of depositories, etc.)
  • Delimitation of the test scope and development of the test strategy
  • Creation of test planning and coordination with the relevant departments/systems
  • Management of the test execution (test of the migration including integrative tests with the new Global Custodian and tests of the daily processing after migration)
  • Management of the old/new global custodian with regard to migration and testing
  • Obtaining the necessary approvals for migration
  • Planning of the migration weekend and coordination of the planning with the parties involved
  • Management of the migration implementation on the migration weekend
  • Post-migration support

Findings

Migration of approx. 600 custody accounts with approx. 30,000 positions and approx. 60 billion EUR equivalent in time and budget. Enhancing the benefits of the overall project (e. g. improvement of service quality through SLA’s, simplified and more cost-effective implementation of regulatory requirements for foreign business, and reduction of “run the bank” costs).

Settlement and Custody

Settlement and Custody

Wertpapierabwicklung und -verwahrung sind durch hohe Transaktionsvolumina und dementsprechend hohe Kosten geprägt. WEPEX unterstützt seine Kunden bei wichtigen Maßnahmen zur Kostenreduktion. Dazu gehören Prozessoptimierung, Sourcingentscheidungen und Systemmigrationen sowie die Optimierung des Lagerstellennetzwerkes und die Auswahl von Global Custodians. Auch bei kritischen operativen Problemen, wie Analyse und Bereinigung von Geld- und Betandsdifferenzen, greifen unsere Kunden gerne auf die Fach- und Lösungskompetenz von WEPEX zurück.

Nachfolgend sind ausgewählte Projekte aufgeführt, die wir in diesem Umfeld durchgeführt haben.

Wertpapierabwicklung

  • Internationale Großbank: Einführung eines neuen Wertpapier-Middle-Office-Systems, Analyse der Geschäftsvorfälle und Optimierung der Abläufe in den vorgelagerten Handelssystemen, Bereinigung der Kontrahentenstammdaten. Synchronisation der Stammdaten der betroffenen Systeme
  • Analyse der strategischen Optionen, Einführung einer Projektstruktur und Koordination der einzelnen Workstreams bei der Einführung einer Wertpapierdisposition sowie Trennung von Kunden- und Eigenhandelsbeständen.
  • Landesbank: Definition der Application Architecture und Restrukturierung des Teilprojekts „Migration“ innerhalb eines Großprojektes zur Zusammenlegung der Wertpapierabwicklung zweier Landesbanken und Gründung einer gemeinsamen Transaktionsbank.
  • Öffentlich-rechtliche Bank: Unterstützung der Projektleitung im Rahmen einer Vorstudie zur Ablösung des zentralen Wertpapierabwicklungssystems. Evaluierung unterschiedlicher Alternativen (Einführung neues WP-System vs. ASP-Lösung bei einer Transaktionsbank).
  • Genossenschaftliche Zentralbank: Postmigrationsprojekt Behebung Geldverrechnungsdifferenzen. Analyse und Strukturierung der ausstehenden Postmigrationsprobleme nach einem komplexen Migrationsprojekt im Bereich der Auslagerung der Wertpapierabwicklung, um dieser einer strukturierten Abarbeitung zuzuführen. Erstellen eines Maßnahmenkatalogs und Statusreportings sowie Etablierung eines MIS für das Management (monatliches Reporting definierter KPIs).

Custody

  • Geschäftsbank: Analyse der strategischen Optionen und Durchführung des Ausschreibungsprozesses beim Verkauf des Custody- und Clearing-Geschäfts durch eine deutsche Geschäftsbank.
  • Landesbank: Durchführung des RfP-Prozesses und Bewertung der Angebote innerhalb eines Projekts zur Reorganisation des Custody Networks zur Kosteneinsparung.
  • Öffentlich rechtliche Bank: Migration des Global Custodians für das Auslandsgeschäft (inkl. Eigenhandel und Depotbank / Sondervermögen)

Ausgewähltes Projektprofil: Migration Global Custodian

  • Der Kunde ist eine deutsche Depotbank, die zu Projektstart das internationale Geschäft über einen Global Custodian mit Sitz in Großbritannien abgewickelt hat.
  • Zielsetzung des Projektes war die Betrachtung der bestehenden Custodiananbindungen unter Berücksichtigung von Wirtschaftlichkeitsaspekten und regulatorischen Vorgaben sowie die Etablierung von detaillierten Service Level Agreements (SLAs).
  • Unter anderem wegen der zunehmenden regulatorischen Anforderungen (z. B. Depotbankrundschreiben der BaFin vom Sommer 2010) und den damit einhergehenden erhöhten Kontrollpflichten von Depotbanken für das Auslandsgeschäft wurde entschieden, auf einen Global Custodian mit Sitz in Deutschland zu migrieren, da ein deutscher Custodian ebenfalls direkt der Regulierung durch die BaFin unterliegt.

WEPEX Aufgaben und Projektansatz

  • Leitung der Migration auf den neuen Global Custodian.
  • Aufnahme der von der Migration betroffenen Abteilungen und der betroffenen Systeme.
  • Entwicklung der fachlichen und systemtechnischen Migrationsstrategie.
  • Erstellung des Migrationsplans und Abstimmung mit den relevanten Abteilungen (betroffen waren fast alle Funktionen im Back Office der Depotbank, z.B. Auslandsabwicklung, Abwicklung Repo/Leihegeschäft, Geldverbuchung, Gelddisposition, Lagerstellenabstimmung, etc.).
  • Abgrenzung des Testumfangs und Erarbeitung der Teststrategie.
  • Erstellung der Testplanung und Abstimmung mit den relevanten Abteilungen / Systemen.
  • Leitung der Testdurchführung (Test der Migration inkl. integrativer Tests mit dem neuen Global Custodian und Tests der täglichen Verarbeitung nach Migration).
  • Management des alten / neuen Global Custodians hinsichtlich Migration und Test.
  • Einholung der notwendigen Freigaben zur Migration.
  • Planung des Migrationswochenendes und Abstimmung der Planung mit den beteiligten Parteien.
  • Leitung der Migrationsdurchführung am Migrationswochenende.
  • Support nach Migrationsdurchführung.

Ergebnisse

Migration von ca. 600 Custody Accounts mit ca. 30.000 Positionen und ca. 60 Mrd. EUR Gegenwert im gesteckten Zeit- und Budgetrahmen. Hebung des durch das Gesamtprojekt angepeilten Nutzens (z. B. Verbesserung Service Qualität durch SLAs, vereinfachte und kostengünstigere Umsetzung von regulatorischen Anforderungen für das Auslandsgeschäft, Reduktion von „Run the Bank“ Kosten).