Trading and Treasury

Trading and Treasury

WEPEX cover the full range of derivatives of all asset classes, including exotic variants as well as all spot market products (stocks, bonds, FX/MM and securities lending and borrowing/repo). WEPEX has experience in the entire process chain from sales/brokerage and trading to trading support processes, risk management, P&L reporting, accounting, controlling and settlement of OTC, and exchange-traded derivatives.

In addition, WEPEX is very familiar with the functionalities and application areas of marketable trading software such as Front Arena, Murex, Sophis Risque, Calypso, Kondor+, Summit, or Imagine.

Selected projects that we have carried out in this environment are listed below:

Derivatives Trading
  • International investment bank: Program management for Front Office and Risk Management IT in the area of complex derivatives, steering several projects, planning and prioritizing measures, building up the team, and reengineering the architecture.
  • International investment bank: Project management and conception for the introduction of complex equity and interest rate derivatives, coordination of process and system expansions for risk controlling, reporting and accounting, planning and control of the integration test
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Cross-divisional coordination for the introduction of credit, equity and commodity derivatives, planning and prioritization of process and system expansions in trading systems and downstream applications (risk controlling, reporting and accounting)
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Project management for basic migration, testing and rollout of a complex release upgrade of the central trading system for equities and OTC derivatives with integration into the entire process chain and all banking functions.
  • Top Institute of the Sparkassenfinanzgruppe: Project management of basic migration, test and rollout management in the context of the release upgrade of the central trading and risk system for interest rate, credit and equity derivatives, including test procedure and development of the technical platform for the preliminary test of the valuation connection.
Trading Cash Market
  • International Commercial Bank: Project management, planning and implementation of post-merger integration for the FX/MM business, standardization of product catalog and master data, system consolidation, and data migration
  • Top Institute Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe: Analysis of processes focusing on mass business capability, design and implementation of business enhancement for equity and bond transactions in ETF trading
Certificate Trading
  • International investment bank: Definition of processes and architecture for certificate trading (issuing process, pricing, market making, trading, product lifecycle management)
  • Major European bank: Migration of certificate trading to a common global platform, process analysis, definition of target processes taking into account specific local requirements, definition of system expansions and interfaces, piloting and data migration
  • International commercial bank: Project management, IT performance enhancements, load increases and production stabilizations to enable high-volume retail certificate business with secondary market and market-making.
  • Landesbank: Project management and senior advisory services in the development of a business model for the issuance of retail certificates, planning and prioritization of measures, building up the team, reengineering the trading architecture, and introducing new products along the entire process chain and bank functions.
  • Central Institution of the Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe: Project management in the development of an issuing platform for retail certificates
Securities Lending/Repo
  • Public-sector bank: System introduction of securities loans/repo with the support of fund pooling and agency lending, integration of various tri-party agents, increase in the degree of automation for rapidly growing trading volumes, requirements analysis, planning, specialist conceptual design of master data extensions and internal and external interfaces.
Sales und Brokerage
  • Direct bank: Preliminary study on the connection of trading platforms for the off-exchange trading of certificates and warrants, selection of suitable platforms, compilation of a catalogue of requirements, analysis of the effects on processes and technology as well as implementation-planning.
Risk management
  • Major European bank: Introduction of a risk management system for equity derivatives trading, project management, analysis of requirements, conception and development of the architecture for scenario calculations, interactive reporting for traders, management and risk controlling
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Replacement of a proprietary market risk system by the market risk component of standard software, project management, test planning and execution
Assessment Architecture
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Project management, control of the extension of the interest rate evaluation library for CMS, CMS spread TARNs, range accrual TARNs, ratchet and inflation-linked products, control of the validation of the valuation models and procedures and acceptance processes, connection to the trading and risk system, implementation of integration tests.
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Project management, execution of structured performance analysis for the valuation architecture and connection to trading systems for complex interest rate products, control of the necessary optimization activities derived from the performance analysis.
Support Processes
  • Major German bank: Consolidation of nostro accounts for retail and investment banking, project management, conception of process simplifications in cash management, coordination of adjustment measures, migration planning and implementation, planning and coordination of test activities.
  • Major German bank: Consolidation of customer and instrument master data, technical project management, preparation of service catalogs, analysis of interfaces and processes, definition of target processes, planning and control of migration activities.
Program Management and Architecture
  • International investment and commercial bank: Program management and architectural design for the re-engineering of the international securities finance business
  • Major German bank: Program management for the realization of cost reductions in IT and operations within the scope of restructuring and realignment of investment banking, action planning (e. g. system consolidation, closure of locations, optimization of stock exchange memberships, centralization of processes), and result-reporting to top management.
  • Landesbank (regional state bank): Definition of a target architecture for capital market business in the context of a complex bank merger/integration and preparation of an integration/migration plan
  • Major German bank: Establishment of a program management system for the modernization of core bank processes and systems, support for in-house consulting in setting up a program management system for the further development of the IT and business process architecture for the credit and refinancing business, advising program/project managers on the establishment of governance and committee structures and the use of systems and methods, preparation of a program and project reporting standard, establishment of an IT architecture board.
  • Major German bank: Implementation of new and digital distribution channels for private clients (asset management), management of the program and project office, support of the internal program/project management as an external “right-hand man” of the internal managers
Valuation models & methodology
Complex new regulatory requirements through the recent years force banks, asset managers and other player in the financial markets to re-focus their use of innovative financial products and to enhance their financial engineering and the corresponding valuation modelling. Trading, Collateral Management, Risk Management and Hedge Accounting have to cope with more sophisticated frameworks and environments. Leveraging the strong quantitative background of the highly skilled and experienced senior advisors in the WEPEX advisory board and of specialized partners as well as co-operating with internationally renowned universities, allows WEPEX to enable their clients to use even more sophisticated mathematical models to quantify market and credit risk and optimize risk and return ratios. WEPEX services cover thereby mathematical models to real-time interfaces and tools and regulatory compliance. WEPEX combines business experience and mathematical analysis from traders, structurers, quants and risk managers with the science and methodical and technological best practice.
Selected Project Profile: Restructuring and Realignment Investment Banking Project Background
  • The client is a major German bank with trading locations in investment banking in Frankfurt, London, New York, Tokyo, and Hong Kong.
  • The units are characterized by highly volatile earnings structures and very heterogeneous processes and technologies.
  • The bank strives to reduce the direct and indirect costs of the Corporates & Markets Division by 30% P. A. This corresponds to a reduction of EUR 300 million in annual cost allocation.
  • At the same time, risky business segments should be scaled back or closed completely in order to stabilize earnings.
  • Non-profitable locations should be closed.

WEPEX Tasks and Project Approach

  • Conception and implementation of a program management system for the COO to implement
  • 150 projects and individual measures to achieve annual savings potential of EUR 300 million
  • Total project volume: approx. EUR 21 million
  • Set up a consistent program to implement savings targets with 14 support units
  • Establishment of controlling and reporting to COO and Board of Management
  • Major projects:
  • Closure of two sites
  • Consolidation of securities settlement platforms
  • Consolidation of the front-office application landscape
  • Consolidation of IT production from 4 locations in Frankfurt
  • Extensive reduction of the legal entities in Frankfurt
  • Optimization of exchange memberships, broker networks, warehouse networks and processes for structured products

Findings

  • Achievement of cost targets within 18 months
  • Complete cost transparency of processes, introduction of a cost per ticket service accounting
  • Significant reduction of value at risk/capital costs by reducing proprietary trading activities

Trading and Treasury

Trading and Treasury

Wir decken die vollständige Produktpalette von Derivaten aller Assetklassen, inklusive exotischer Varianten, sowie allen Kassamarktprodukten (Aktien, Renten, FX/MM und Wertpapierleihe/Repo) ab. WEPEX hat Erfahrungen in der gesamten Prozesskette von Sales / Brokerage und Handel über Handelssupportprozesse, Risikomanagement, P&L Reporting, Rechnungslegung, Controlling bis zur Abwicklung von OTC- und börsengehandelten Derivaten.

Darüber hinaus sind uns die Funktionalitäten und Anwendungsbereiche marktgängiger Handelssoftware wie z.B. Front Arena, Murex, Sophis Risque, Calypso, Kondor+, Summit oder Imagine bestens vertraut.

Nachfolgend sind ausgewählte Projekte aufgeführt, die wir in diesem Umfeld durchgeführt haben.

Derivatehandel

  • Internationale Investmentbank: Programm-Management für Front Office und Risk Management IT im Bereich komplexer Derivate, Steuerung mehrerer Projekte, Planung und Priorisierung von Maßnahmen, Aufbau des Teams und Reengineering der Architektur
  • Internationale Investmentbank: Projektleitung und Konzeption für die Einführung komplexer Aktien- und Zinsderivate, Koordination der Prozess- und Systemerweiterungen für Risikocontrolling, Meldewesen und Rechnungswesen, Planung und Steuerung des Integrationstests
  • Landesbank: Bereichsübergreifende Koordination für die Einführung von Kredit-, Aktien- und Rohstoffderivaten, Planung und Priorisierung der Prozess- und Systemerweiterungen in den Handelssystemen und nachgelagerten Anwendungen (Risikocontrolling, Meldewesen und Rechnungswesen)
  • Landesbank: Projektleitung für Basismigration, Test und Rollouts eines komplexen Releasewechsels des zentralen Handelssystems für Aktien und OTC-Derivate mit Integration in die gesamte Prozesskette und alle Bankfunktionen
  • Spitzeninstitut der Sparkassenfinanzgruppe: Projektleitung Basismigration, Test- und Rollout-Management im Rahmen des Releasewechsels des zentralen Handels- und Risikosystems für Zins-, Kredit- und Aktienderivate, inkl. Testvorgehen und Aufbau der technischen Plattform für den Vorabtest der Bewertungsanbindung

Handel Kassamarkt

  • Internationale Geschäftsbank: Projektleitung, Planung und Durchführung der Post Merger Integration für das FX/MM-Geschäft, Vereinheitlichung von Produktkatalog und Stammdaten, Systemkonsolidierung und Datenmigration
  • Spitzeninstitut Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe: Analyse der Prozesse unter dem Fokus der Massengeschäftsfähigkeit, Design und Implementierung der Geschäftsanreicherung für die Aktien- und Bondgeschäfte des ETF-Handels

Zertifikatehandel

  • Internationale Investmentbank: Definition von Prozessen und Architektur für den Zertifikatehandel (Emissionsprozess, Pricing, Market Making, Handel, Produktlebenszyklusmanagement)
  • Europäische Großbank: Migration des Zertifikatehandels auf eine gemeinsame globale Plattform, Prozessanalyse, Definition der Zielprozesse unter Berücksichtigung der spezifischen lokalen Anforderungen, Definition der Systemerweiterungen und Schnittstellen, Pilotierung und Datenmigration
  • Internationale Geschäftsbank: Projektleitung, IT-seitige Performancesteigerungen, Lasterhöhungen und  Produktionsstabilisierungen zur Ermöglichung eines hochvolumigen Retailzertifikategeschäfts mit Sekundärmarkt und Market Making
  • Landesbank: Projektleitung und Senior Advisory beim Aufbau eines Geschäftsmodells für die Emission von Retailzertifikaten, Planung und Priorisierung von Maßnahmen, Aufbau des Teams, Reengineering der Handelsarchitektur und Einführung von neuen Produkten entlang der gesamten Prozesskette und Bankfunktionen
  • Spitzeninstitut der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe: Projektleitung beim Aufbau einer Emissionsplattform für Retailzertifikate

Wertpapierleihe / Repo

  • Öffentlich-rechtliche Bank: Systemeinführung Wertpapierleihe/Repo mit Unterstützung von Fondspooling und Agency Lending, Anbindung diverser Tripartyagenten, Erhöhung des Automatisierungsgrades für stark wachsende Handelsvolumina, Anforderungsanalyse, Planung, Fachkonzeption von Stammdatenerweiterungen und von internen und externen Schnittstellen

Sales und Brokerage

  • Direktbank: Vorstudie zur Anbindung von Handelsplattformen für den außerbörslichen Handel von Zertifikaten und Optionsscheinen, Selektion geeigneter Plattformen, Erstellung Anforderungskatalog, Analyse der Auswirkungen auf Prozesse und Technologie, Implementierungsplanung

Risikomanagement

  • Europäische Großbank: Einführung eines Risikomanagementsystems für den Aktienderivatehandel, Projektleitung, Analyse der Anforderungen, Konzeption und Entwicklung der Architektur für die Szenarioberechnungen, interaktives Reporting für Händler, Management und Risikocontrolling
  • Landesbank: Ablösung eines proprietären Marktrisikosystems durch die Marktrisikokomponente einer Standardsoftware, Projektleitung, Testplanung und -durchführung

Bewertungsarchitektur

  • Landesbank: Projektleitung, Steuerung der Erweiterung der Zins-Bewertungsbibliothek für CMS, CMS Spread TARNs, Range Accrual TARNs, Ratchet und inflation-linked Products, Steuerung der Validierung der Bewertungsmodelle und –verfahren und Abnahmeprozesse, Anbindung an das Handels- und Risikosystem, Durchführung der Integrationstests
  • Landesbank: Projektleitung, Durchführung strukturierter Performanceanalyse für die Bewertungsarchitektur und Anbindung an die Handelssysteme für komplexe Zinsprodukte, Steuerung der notwendigen Optimierungstätigkeiten, die aus der Performanceanalyse abgeleitet wurden

Supportprozesse

  • Deutsche Großbank: Konsolidierung der Nostrokonten für Retail- und Investmentbanking, Projektleitung, Konzeption von Prozessvereinfachungen im Cash Management, Koordination von Bereinigungsmaßnahmen, Migrationsplanung und -durchführung, Planung und Koordination der Testaktivitäten
  • Deutsche Großbank: Konsolidierung von Kunden- und Instrumentenstammdaten, fachliche Projektleitung, Erstellung der Servicekataloge, Analyse von Schnittstellen und Prozessen, Definition der Zielprozesse, Planung und Steuerung der Migrationsaktivitäten

Programm-Management und Architektur

  • Internationale Investment- und Geschäftsbank: Programm-Leitung und Architekturdesign beim Reengineeriung für das internationale Securities Finance-Geschäft
  • Deutsche Großbank: Programm-Management für die Realisierung von Kostenreduktionen in IT und Operations im Rahmen der Restrukturierung und Neuausrichtung des Investment Bankings, Maßnahmenplanung (z.B. Systemkonsolidierung, Schließung von Standorten, Optimierung der Börsenmitgliedschaften, Zentralisierung von Prozessen) und Ergebnisreporting an das Topmanagement
  • Landesbank: Definition einer Zielarchitektur für das Kapitalmarktgeschäft im Rahmen einer komplexen Bankenfusion/-integration und Erstellung eines Integrations-/Migrationsplans
  • Deutsche Großbank: Etablierung eines Programm-Managements für die Modernisierung der Kernbankprozesse/-systeme, Unterstützung des Inhouse Consulting beim Aufsetzen eines Programm-Managements für die Weiterentwicklung der IT- und Geschäftsprozessarchitektur für das Kredit-und Refinanzierungsgeschäft, Beratung der Programm-/Projektleiter bei der Etablierung der Governance- und Gremienstruktur und beim Einsatz von Systemen und Methoden, Erstellung eines Programm- und Projektreportingstandards, Etablierung eines IT-Architekturboards
  • Deutsche Großbank: Implementierung neuer und digitaler Vertriebskanäle für Privatkunden (Vermögensverwaltung), Leitung des Programm- und Projektbüros, Unterstützung der internen Programm-/Projektleitung als externe „rechte Hand“ der internen Verantwortlichen

Ausgewähltes Projektprofil: Restrukturierung und Neuausrichtung Investment Banking Projekthintergrund

  • Der Kunde ist eine deutsche Großbank mit Handelsstandorten im Investment Banking in Frankfurt, London, New York, Tokio und Hongkong.
  • Die Einheiten sind von sehr volatilen Ertragsstrukturen sowie sehr heterogenen Prozessen und Technologien geprägt.
  • Die Bank strebte an, die direkten und indirekten Kosten des Bereichs Corporates & Markets um 30% p.a. zu reduzieren. Dies entspricht einer Reduktion der jährlichen Kostenallokation um EUR 300 Mio.
  • Gleichzeitig sollten risikobehaftete Geschäftsfelder zurückgefahren bzw. ganz geschlossen werden, um Erträge zu stabilisieren.
  • Nicht profitable Lokationen sollten geschlossen werden.

WEPEX Aufgaben und Projektansatz

  • Konzeption und Umsetzung eines Programm-Managements für den COO zur Umsetzung von
    150 Projekten und Einzelmaßnahmen zur Erreichung eines jährlichen Einsparpotentials
    von EUR 300 Mio.
  • Gesamtprojektvolumen ca. EUR 21 Mio.
  • Aufsetzen eines konsistenten Programms zur Umsetzung von Einsparvorgaben mit 14 Supporteinheiten.
  • Aufbau Controlling und Reporting an COO und Gesamtvorstand.
  • Wesentliche Projekte:
    • Schließung zweier Standorte
    • Konsolidierung der Abwicklungsplattformen für Wertpapiere
    • Konsolidierung der Front-Office Anwendungs-Landschaft
    • Konsolidierung der IT-Produktion aus 4 Standorten in Frankfurt
    • Weitestgehende Reduktion der rechtlichen Einheiten auf Frankfurt
    • Optimierung der Börsenmitgliedschaften
    • Optimierung des Brokernetzwerkes
    • Optimierung des Lagerstellennetzwerkes
    • Optimierung der Prozesse für strukturierte Produkte

Ergebnisse

  • Erreichung der Kostenziele innerhalb von 18 Monaten.
  • Vollständige Kostentransparenz von Prozessen, Einführung einer Cost per Ticket Leistungsverrechnung.
  • Signifikante Reduktion des Value at Risk/Kapitalkosten durch Reduktion der Eigenhandelsaktivitäten.